WHITEWATER

Council Members

Certified True Copy

Mayor Michael Moore Reeve Cathy Regier Councillors:

Charlene Jackson
Dave Mackay
Daryl McLaughlin
Neil Nicholson
Chris Olmstead

At its meeting of October 20, 2021, the Council of the Township of Whitewater Region adopted the following resolution:

Moved by Councillor Charlene Jackson, Seconded by Councillor Neil Nicholson:

Whereas, The Minister's Restructuring Order of 1999 required a Whitewater Region Council of nine members with a Head of Council elected at large to be known as the Reeve who would also serve on County Council (elected at large), a Deputy Reeve to be appointed amongst the members to act in the absence of the Head of Council, and eight Councillors elected two per ward; and

Whereas, for the 2006 election, the title of the Head and Deputy Heads of Council were changed to Mayor and Deputy Mayor, while the Mayor continued to serve on Renfrew County Council until 2010; and

Whereas, for the 2010 municipal election, the size of Council was reduced from nine to seven with the Mayor as Head Council, Reeve now serving on Renfrew County Council, a Deputy Mayor elected at large and one Councillor for each of the four wards; and

(613) 646-2282

P.O. Box 40, 44 Main Street Cobden, ON K0J 1K0

Whereas, for the 2014 election, Council eliminated the ward system with a Mayor, Reeve (continuing to serve on County Council) and five Councillors all elected at large; and



Whereas, the composition of Renfrew County Council includes a majority of Heads of Council from the lower-tier municipalities, with the exception of Whitewater Region, Laurentian Valley, Deep River, Arnprior and Renfrew; and

Whereas, should Whitewater Region Council wish to change its composition, it must do so the year before a municipal election; and

Whereas, Section 220 of the Municipal Act allows Council to change the titles of office holders and Section 217 allows changes to the composition of council with the minimum size being five members; and

Whereas, given the leadership role of the Mayor it may be appropriate that they also serve at Renfrew County Council to ensure proper flow of information, advocacy and representation;

Therefore be it resolved that Council of the Township of Whitewater Region direct that a 30-day public consultation period be commenced on potential changes to Whitewater Region Township Council as follows:

- Mayor to serve on County Council following the 2022 election;
- Reeve position to be eliminated and replaced with a seventh member, with all members continuing to be elected at large; and
- That Council determine how a Deputy Mayor will be selected to act in the absence of the Mayor. Options include direct election at large, selection at the inaugural meeting by Council, automatic appointment of the Councillor with the most votes at the election, or by appointment on a rotation basis for the council term.

Carried - Resolution #2021-4598

Sincerely,

Carmen Miller Clerk/CEMC