Subscribe to Updates

Algonquin Trail

The Ottawa Valley Recreational Trail is a 296 km multi-use trail partnership between Lanark County, Renfrew County and Papineau-Cameron Township.  It connects the communities of Smiths Falls to Mattawa along the former Canadian Pacific Railway.  The Algonquin Trail, the section so named in Renfrew County, includes 219 km of this recreational trail which spans through 10 municipalities and the City of Pembroke.

Algonquin Trail in The Township of Whitewater Region
The Algonquin Trail stretches across 35 km throughout the Region. For more information on what part of the trail is open click here

The maximum speed limit permitted throughout the Algonquin Trail is 50km/hour on rural parts of the trail and 20km/hour on urban parts of the trail

The Algonquin Trail is open to ATV's and ORV's from May 15th to November 15th  FOr more information on what part of the trails are not permitted for ATV use at this time, contact the Renfrew County ATV Club at or visit their website at 

Snowmobile Use
A permit is required for the use of a snowmachine on the Algonquin Trail from November 30th to April 30th from the ntario Federation of Snowmobile Clubs